Train of Thought #2

“We all change. When you think about it, we’re all different people, all through our lives. And that’s okay, that’s good, you gotta keep moving, so long as you remember all the people that you used to be.” – Eleventh Doctor, The Time of the Doctor

I remember who I used to be. Not many specifics, mind you, but more of the kind of person I used to be. Some of it good. Some of it not. Much of it is what inspired me to start this blog – however much or little I write in it – and be a better person than I had been. I remember other things about me as well. Things I used to enjoy doing. Playing the violin. Drawing. Reading a lot. You could say that everything’s gone through a phase or something. I’ve revisited some of those things and only thought about others. Maybe I’ll get back to the rest. Maybe not.

I don’t remember where I first heard or read it, but a quote has been stuck in my mind recently. “There’s a difference between being alone and being lonely.” I’ve felt and been both, though not at the same time. I think most people can’t tell/see the difference in anyone except themselves. Although I suppose if you’ve known someone long enough; spent enough time around someone, then you would be able to pick up subtle hints as to which way they were feeling.

I don’t know where I was going with this train of thought. Everyone needs some time to themselves sure. Some need more time than others. But in the long run, everyone should have someone to be with. It’s just a matter of finding that someone; that someone who won’t run away from who you are or used to be.

I don’t mind being alone. It’s the times when I’m lonely that I have to be cautious. About what, I’m not sure. It’s difficult to describe right now. Maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

